The Flag of the United States of America.

The Declaration of Independence established the core principles of our Nation, the United States of America. Our Constitution with the Amendments provided a rule of law for an actual government to accomplish those principles. The Bill of Rights protects the individual rights of American citizens.

Abraham Lincoln, in a tribute to the 52,000 Americans that had been killed, injured or lost in the 3-day battle of Gettysburg, delivered his famous Gettysburg Address on November 19, 1863, and declared that this "nation under God shall have a new birth of freedom."

A Pledge of Allegiance first appeared in a magazine entitled "The Youth Companion" on September 8, 1892, edited by Francis Bellamy and James Upham. The magazine issue was a commemoration of Christopher Columbus' landing in 1492. The Pledge was modified to incorporate Abraham Lincoln's Gettysburg Address, with the expression "Nation under God." The final and present form of the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America received formal recognition under President Dwight D. Eisenhower on Flag Day, June 14, 1954.

The Pledge of Allegiance indicates that our Republic is to provide Liberty and Justice for all. President George W. Bush signed the Pledge of Allegiance Reaffirmation Act on November 13, 2002, reaffirming the phrase "One Nation under God" in the Pledge of Allegiance, and "In God We Trust" as the national motto of the United States of America.

I Pledge Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America,
and to the Republic for which it stands,
one Nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.