7 Hebrew words every Christian should know for deeper faith

Hebrew words

Are you looking to deepen your understanding of the Bible and enrich your spiritual practices?

Learning key Hebrew words can open new dimensions of meaning in Scripture, enhancing your connection to the original texts.

Hebrew, the original language of the Old Testament, is rich in spiritual significance.

Understanding key Hebrew words can deepen your biblical interpretation and enrich your faith walk.

This article introduces 7 essential Hebrew words that every Christian should know, offering insights into their significance and how they can transform your study, prayer, and worship.

1. YHWH: The ineffable name of God

YHWH, often pronounced as Yahweh, is the most sacred Hebrew word in the Old Testament.

It’s known as the “tetragrammaton”, a term derived from the Greek meaning “four letters”.

This word is so revered that it’s often replaced with the word “Adonai”, meaning “Lord”, when reading aloud.

The Jewish tradition emphasizes the holiness of God’s name to such an extent that it’s considered too sacred to be spoken.

YHWH is used over 6,800 times in the Old Testament, signifying God’s self-existence and eternal nature.

It’s first introduced in Exodus 3:14 when God reveals Himself to Moses as “I AM WHO I AM”.

2. Shalom: More than just peace

Shalom is a common Hebrew word known to many, even those who don’t speak the language.

Most often translated as “peace”, Shalom carries a much deeper and more comprehensive meaning in its original context.

Shalom encompasses harmony, wholeness, completeness, prosperity, welfare, and tranquility. It’s not just the absence of conflict, but a sense of serenity and fulfillment that pervades all aspects of life.

This word is used in multiple ways throughout the Scriptures – as a blessing, a greeting, and a descriptor of character.

For instance, in Numbers 6:26, God instructs the priests to bless the Israelites with Shalom.

Believe it or not, understanding the essence of Shalom can revolutionize your perspective on peace. It’s not just about tranquility but an all-encompassing well-being that covers every aspect of life.

3. Chesed: Unfailing love

Next, we encounter another profound Hebrew word – “Chesed”. This term is often translated as “lovingkindness” or “mercy” in English Bibles.

However, Chesed holds a more multifaceted meaning.

Chesed represents covenantal love, a steadfast and unfailing kindness that persists regardless of circumstances. It’s a love that is loyal, generous, and unchanging.

This attribute is often used to describe God’s love for His people.

For instance, Psalm 136 repeats the phrase “His love endures forever” – the Hebrew word for “love” in this context is Chesed.

4. Teshuvah: A return to God

Have you ever felt the need for a fresh start?

Well, the Hebrew word “Teshuvah” might resonate with you.

Teshuvah is often translated as “repentance”, but it carries a deeper implication. Derived from the Hebrew root “Shuv”, it means to return.

Teshuvah signifies a return to God, a turning away from sin and choosing instead to follow God’s ways.

This word captures the essence of our faith journey.

How exactly?

Well, we all stray, make mistakes, and need to return to God for forgiveness and renewal.

Teshuvah is a recurring theme in the Scriptures, especially in the prophetic books, where Israel is repeatedly called to return to God.

Embracing Teshuvah can bring a profound shift in your spiritual walk.

After all, this Hebrew word isn’t just about feeling sorry for sins, but about experiencing a transformation that draws you closer to God.

Food for thought: The concept of Teshuvah is especially prominent during the Jewish High Holidays, when individuals seek to make amends and start anew.

5. Emunah: Unwavering faith

Emunah is a Hebrew word that carries the weight of trust, faithfulness, and reliability.

It’s often translated as “faith”, but its connotations go beyond mere belief.

Emunah implies a deep-seated trust and reliance on God, a faith that remains steady despite circumstances. It means trusting in God’s character and making promises even when things don’t make sense.

This word is used frequently throughout the Scriptures to describe the faith of biblical heroes and the faithfulness of God Himself.

Here are some biblical characters known for their Emunah:

  • Abraham: Recognized for his faith in God’s promises
  • Moses: Trusted God amidst challenges leading the Israelites
  • David: Relied on God in his battles and personal struggles

6. Ruach: Breath of life

Ruach is a Hebrew word that signifies “wind”, “breath”, or “spirit”. In the biblical context, it takes on a profound meaning. It refers to the very breath of God, His life-giving Spirit.

This is the word used in Genesis 2:7, where it’s written that God breathed into man’s nostrils the “breath of life”.

It’s also used in Ezekiel 37’s vision of the valley of dry bones, where God’s Ruach brings life to the lifeless.

The reason why I believe Ruach can revolutionize how we perceive God’s Spirit is this:

It’s not just an abstract concept — it’s the very breath that gives us life and sustains us.

As we delve into Ruach, we are reminded of our dependence on God for every breath. It speaks to us about the intimate involvement of God in our lives – how He not only created us but continues to sustain us.

7. Kavod: The weight of glory

Finally, I want you to capture yourself standing in the presence of a majestic mountain or a vast ocean.

You feel a sense of awe, right?

A similar sense of reverence is captured by the Hebrew word “Kavod”.

Kavod is often translated as “glory” in English. However, it originally meant “weight” or “heaviness”.

In the biblical context, Kavod refers to the weightiness or significance of someone, particularly God.

When we talk about the Kavod of God, we’re referring to His greatness, majesty, and the honor due to Him because of who He is.

As believers, understanding Kavod can inspire a deeper sense of reverence for God. That’s how we can acknowledge His greatness and respond with appropriate awe and respect.

Why can knowing Hebrew words deepen your faith?

The Bible was originally written in three languages: Hebrew, Aramaic, and Greek. The Old Testament, in particular, was primarily written in Hebrew.

Understanding these key Hebrew words can provide a richer, more nuanced understanding of the Scriptures.

These words carry layers of meaning that can sometimes be lost in translation.

Besides, studying these words also offers a closer connection to the biblical world. It allows us to enter the minds of the ancient authors and comprehend their messages more accurately.

So, here’s the thing:

The value of knowing these words lies in their ability to illuminate aspects of our faith that are often lost in translation. They remind us of the richness and depth of God’s word and His character.

What would Jesus say?

Unsure whether to move on from a failed marriage? Struggling with desire and feeling guilty for it? Wanting to live a life Jesus would be proud of?

Let Jesus tell you how to be a good Christian according to the teachings of the Bible.

We brought Jesus back to life with the help of AI. Ask your toughest life questions, and Jesus will tell you exactly what to do.

Check it out here.


Samuel Cho

Samuel Cho

I'm Samuel Cho from South Korea, where my passion for writing and Christ intertwines. Through my essays and articles, I aim to bridge the divine with the daily, drawing from Scripture and my own life's journey. My articles often explore how faith intersects with everyday life in an Asian context. With each piece, I invite readers on Biblescripture.net to reflect on the universal truths within our diverse experiences of faith.

Related articles

Most read articles

Get our articles

The latest Move news, articles, and resources, sent straight to your inbox every month.

Scroll to Top